h1

Chapter 16: Puppy

July 1, 2007

A week had passed. I decided to call my parents whom I had not contacted since I came to Korea. I felt guilty.

“Hello, mum?”

“Ji Hye!” My mum sounded like she was about to break into tears.

“Mum, I am sorry.” I could feel my voice shaking.

“How have you been dear? Your father and I have been so worried. Luckily Yoo Chun called us and told us you were okay.”

Thanks Yoo Chun, I owe you one.

“I am good Mum. I just finished a big concert and I am going to an audition soon. If I pass this audition, I will become an official dancer to one of the upcoming singers here.” I told her happily.

“That’s wonderful dear.” She sounded relieved.

“How is…” I asked slowly.

“Your dad is not as angry anymore. He’s just worried. Do come home soon to see us.” She sounded like she was going to cry again.

“Yes I will. I miss you all.” I held my tears back.

“Good luck for the audition. Do tell me the good news.” She said happily.

“Yes mum, take care.”

I felt relieved I made this call. Now, I felt even more ready for the audition.

*At The Audition*

“Hello everyone, welcome to round two. My name is Min Yong. I will be one of the judges for this round of auditions. We look forward to good performances from all of you.” A man said loudly to the whole group in the waiting room. I thought I had seen him somewhere before.

I took my number and waited for my turn. I was starting to feel nervous. I mentally ran through the choreography I had prepared.

“Number 5.” A lady announced. I was startled.

I walked into the room to find a panel of 5 examiners. I found one strange looking guy at the corner who was wearing a cap, sunglasses and face mask. Is this the mysterious singer? He looked just like a bank robber.

I introduced myself and passed the music to them. The music came on and I started dancing. I tried to imagine I was dancing to myself. I moved and danced in front of every single examiner. When I came to Min Yong, he gave me an encouraging smile like he has seen me dance before. I moved to the bank robber and danced in front of him. I honestly wondered if he could see with those huge sunglasses.

“Well done. Please wait outside.” Min Yong said after I finished dancing.

I stepped and felt my heart racing. I took a drink and tried to calm down. The minutes passed like hours as I sat there waiting for the verdict.

“Congratulations to the following people…number 1, 4, 5, 7 and 8. We will see you at rehearsal next week. Please get details from Miss Soo Mi.” Min Yong announced with a smile.

Number 5? I am in!!

I was so happy I called Na Ra immediately.

“I GOT IN! I GOT IN!” I was practically screaming into the phone.

“CONGRATULATIONS!!” She was equally excited.

“So we will not be seeing you at the studio much anymore.” She sounded a bit sad.

“I will still see you! I will talk to you again. I can’t wait to tell Yoo Chun and the others!”

Yoo Chun was overjoyed to hear the news. Boa was happy for me as well. Junsu promised me a lavish dinner as a reward.

Life is looking good.

*Na Ra’s POV*

“She got in.” I told Changmin as I hung up the phone. “That means she will not be here much anymore. I am going to be so lonely.” I frowned.

“There’s still me. I am here.” Changmin said softly.

“I know you are here!” I laughed, trying not to blush.

“Do you really realize I am here?” He suddenly sounded serious.

“Ah Changmin, what are you talking about? Of course I realize!” I got up and tried to avert the topic.

“Noona.” He held my hand and stopped me.

“Changmin, I…I have to go talk to Yoo Chun.” I stammered and quickly ran out of the studio.

“Noona, don’t run anymore!” He ran after me.

PLAY OST: SHE IS

I stopped and turned around. “Changmin ah, you are such a good looking guy and you are nice. You can find better girls than a fat noona like me.” I turned to leave again.

“I cannot change the fact that I am younger than you! Neither can I change the fact that I like you!” he suddenly shouted over the corrider.

I stopped in my tracks.

“I like you, Na Ra.” His voice quivered.

I didn’t know what to do. My heart was beating so fast I was feeling dizzy.

“Noona, I don’t wait to deny it anymore. I like you. I don’t need a prettier girl. I just want YOU, Jang Na Ra.” He said firmly. I turned around to see his eyes which were burning with confidence. My heart shook.

“Tell me now. Tell me if you feel the same about me. If you say no, I will not bring this up ever again.”

How could he threaten me? What happened to the shy boy?

Memories of the recent days flashed by in my head. He was always there. I have become so used to his presence I never realized he’s always been there.

But he’s younger!

I kept silent for a while and he started to look dejected. He slowly turned around to leave. “I guess this is your answer.”

No.

No.

“Don’t leave!” I screamed. I covered my mouth in shock. Did I just say that?

I did!

I walked towards him, the steps became faster and faster till I ran up to him and threw my arms around him. He returned my hug tightly, his face breaking into a wide smile.”Can I call you Na Ra from now on?” He asked shyly.

“Of course, silly boy!” I kissed him on his nose and kept giggling.

I like you too, Changmin

*Somewhere Around The Corner*

Two people had been hiding quietly, covering their mouths with their hands as Changmin declared his love for Na Ra.

“Wow I never knew!” Yoo Chun gasped.

“They have been so obvious! How could you not know?” Jeong Hee hushed.

Both of them broke into quiet giggles. Yoo Chun looked into Jeong Hee’s eyes as she laughed. Her eyes were clear like the sky, like they had nothing to hide. For a moment, he felt himself lost in her eyes.

“Yoo Chun?” Jeong Hee noticed.

“Oh nothing. Let’s not disturb these lovebirds. Lunch?” Yoo Chun suddenly came back to reality.

“Sure.” Jeong Hee smiled.

STOP OST: SHE IS

*At The Agency*

Today is the day I report for first rehearsal at the agency. I was nervous and excited at the same time. I had arrived early so I thought I would go to one of the studios to do some simple stretching.

I stepped in and set my bags down. I got into stretching when I suddenly saw a huge bundle at the corner. I walked closer and realized it was a sleeping person! The blanket had covered the whole body except the head. I squatted down, tilted my head and looked closely.

PLAY OST: SPEECHLESS

Is this a man or a woman? It seemed like a man but he looked so much like a woman for his skin was clear and smooth. He had such long eyelashes and pink lips. His nose was so sharp and small. His wispy fringe was covering part of his face and even when he was sleeping, he looked like a surreal angel. I felt ashamed as a woman. I moved his fringe to the side of his head.

He blinked.

I was startled and fell back. I was at a loss for words.

He quickly took the blanket and covered his face. After a few seconds, he moved the blanket slowly and popped a little of his head out. He held the blanket to his nose so I could only see his eyes. His eyes were so big, watery and shiny…

So cute!

I was reminded of my neighbor’s puppy that I really liked. I don’t why but I just reached over and…patted his head.

PATTED HIS HEAD?? Ji Hye! What did you just do? What did you do that for?!

I suddenly realized how stupid I looked and pulled my hand back.

“YA!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING? AM I A DOG?” He suddenly jumped up and shouted.

It’s a man!

I found myself staring at tall, handsome young man. He had a good built and had an intense stare that you couldn’t take your eyes away from. I was dumbfounded.

“Dancers! Gather in studio two!” I heard a voice outside.

I jumped up and ran.

“I hope I never meet him again! Why did I do that for? That was so stupid!” I slapped myself.

The dancers gathered in the studio. Min Yong came in after a while.

“Good afternoon, everyone. Welcome to SN entertainment. I believe you are all curious about the singer you will be working with. His identity has been kept a secret and we hope you will keep it secret as well until his debut.” Min Yong explained.

“Who is he?” I asked.

“Oh here he comes.” Min Yong smiled as a young man walked in.

Puppy!

“This is Hero, the singer you will be working with.” Min Yong turned to look at us as he patted Hero’s shoulder.

“Hi everyone, I will be depending on all of you. You can call me JaeJoong.” He smiled, especially widely when he saw me. I felt a cold shudder down my spine.

I swear I nearly died of embarrassment.

3 comments

  1. PEDOOO!!! Jkies o.o Na Ra and Changmin make a good couple =)


  2. I swear, your story is bad for my heart.. >__> I start (literally) screaming everytime you introduce a DBSK member xDD I love your story! ^^


  3. lol a lot of people did like how jae showed up 😛



Leave a comment